Week 9 Activity: Automatic Drawing

This week’s activity asked us to do an automatic drawing, which I thought was pretty interesting, because I have never done anything like this until this week.  I know that this is a kind of surreal art, which we learned a bit about in the Art Talk this week.  Here is a picture of me drawing.

  20150725_155225[1]

I put my pencil on the paper and let it move by itself.  At first, it stayed put and would not move a single bit, but after I waited a while, it did indeed start moving and my result didn’t look too bad.

20150725_171656[1]

Although it does look like something a child drew, it’s a result of my automatic drawing.  This drawing is a type of surrealism, the subconscious state of mind.  I think this week’s activity is one of the more simpler and interesting ones.  I wouldn’t mind doing this again sometime.

Leave a Reply

